This news item was posted on
Monday, 6th January 2014

Back to other news

IĠM launches 24th edition of Malta Journalism Awards


The Institute of Maltese Journalists (IĠM) launched the 24th edition of the annual press awards, known as the Malta Journalism Awards, with 15 categories. Apart from the journalist himself/herself, Editors and Heads of News Departments may select and submit entries that they consider to be the best work of any individual journalist/s, irrespective of whether the journalist belongs to the same newsroom or not. Submissions can also be forwarded by organisations, corporations and bodies.

In both cases, consent has to be given by the individual journalist/s concerned by filling the appropriate part on the Official Application Form prior to submission of entry by the Editor, Head of News Department, or organisations/corporations/bodies.

“The Institute of Maltese Journalists is this year celebrating its 25th anniversary and we are planning for the Malta Journalism Awards to be, as in previous years, a highlight of the activities of the year. I urge all members of the media to submit their work so that the Awards will be a showcase of the very best in local journalism,” IĠM chairman Malcolm J. Naudi said.

These are the 15 categories of this year’s awards:

Print categories:

Print Journalism – News
Print Journalism – Features
Photo Journalism

Broadcast categories:

Broadcast Journalism – TV Script News

Broadcast Journalism – TV Script Features
Broadcast Journalism – Film
Broadcast Journalism – Radio



General categories:

Sports Journalism – Print

Sports Journalism – Broadcasting
Sports Photography
Cultural Journalism
Environment Journalism

Travel Journalism

Opinion Articles

Best use of Maltese Language in Journalism.

Further information can be found on the Institute’s website